Cafe Hopping Around Omotesando and Minami Aoyama, Tokyo

Hello there.

So this is going to be my very first post and I think it will be good if I reviewed my cafe hopping result in Tokyo last week.

I really like having “some time alone” for myself which differs from a me-time. It’s hard for me to focus doing particular task like studying or doing homework when I have friends around. Not that I don’t like it, it’s just hard concentrating and I will prefer having conversation with them. So time to time, I really like to alienate myself by going to near cafes alone (plus I’m a good eater). I really like doing this thing alone, taking photos, enjoying the solitude, all by myself. Hence it became sort of habit to try new cafes or coffee shops or restaurants (well you name it) and I kind of rely on internet reviews to decide where to go. So here I am, trying to make one.

Luckily, I got called for an interview in Tokyo last Sunday. This wasn’t my first time going to Tokyo, but this was my first time going there alone. Since this interview call was a sudden for me, all of my friends and acquaintances in Tokyo had already planned something for the weekend. I had no idea where to go after the interview ended which was around 11 am and planned to just go straight home. However, I changed my direction since it’s a waste for my free Shinkansen ticket to Tokyo. Instead, I walked around Omotesando area to try yummy famous desserts in the area.

My final plan was to go to Sunny Hills, a pineapple cake and juice shop with unique architecture designed by Kengo Kuma. However, I got off the JR Train near Takeshita-dori (Harajuku) to grab CroquantChou Zaku Zaku that I craved and then walked straight to Omotesando Hills area.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

screen-shot-2016-10-30-at-5-24-29-pm
I walked from the left top until the middle right on the map.

 

Dominique Ansel Bakery

The famous bakery is from New York while I actually found this shop in Tokyo through Instagram explore page. The place wasn’t so easy to find since it’s not located on Omotesando main street. By the time I arrived, fortunately, the queue wasn’t too long because I was afraid that I couldn’t get any seat.

At first I thought they only sell breads and pastries but turned out they also sell macaroons, meringues, cookies, cakes, and several other things to satisfy sweet tooth out there. Since it’s October, most of the cookies were on halloween theme. I tried the remarkable Frozen S’mores and their cronut. I think the other signature dish from Dominique Ansel besides those two is their Cookie Shot which is only available from 3pm so I did not get to try it. It was quite pricey for one frozen s’mores however I still think it’s worth to try.

https://goo.gl/maps/LewhybqFToC2

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Inside the shop
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Menu on top
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Macaroons and Other Cakes
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Frozen S’mores
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
The Cronut display

Blue Bottle Coffee (Aoyama Cafe)

Some says you don’t drink coffee unless it’s blue bottle.

I went to Blue Bottle because, as expected, its popularity. I heard this is a coffee shop chain from US (originated from Oakland and has been many favorites in NYC). In here I can clearly see that one branding is very important. They have one kind of simple yet sophisticated feeling for its overall packaging, cafe interior, and even their baristas. They put their blue bottle logo on each equipments including their espresso machine. I ordered New Orleans, their special brew for the cold ones, and tasted surprising.

https://goo.gl/maps/6n7YQvLdX482

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Entrance

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
New Orleans

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Pour Over Coffee Drip

Aoyama Flower Market Tea House

I actually went here last winter with my mom. However, since it is also an utterly famous cafe in the area; I also recommend you to go. We arrived there by the brunch time. It is famous for having long queue so I kind of expected before that we need to wait. While waiting, they will give you the menu in advance. We tried some pancakes, I guess. Did not remember it clearly, but what I remembered the most was the exceptional way of serving the tea. I don’t know much about tea, but I’m pretty sure what they served was mostly herb teas rather than english tea. There are several “mix of herbs” for the tea and that gave us sand clock to wait till the tea is completely ready to drink. Adding to that, the overall interior and decoration was nothing but pretty. You will have the feeling of having tea time in your flower garden.

https://goo.gl/maps/UyWiv6CEAMk

Other than those three, there is also famous Cafe Kitsune in Minami-Aoyama Area. And to close my day in Tokyo after finished at Sunny Hills, I went to Shibuya Publishing House Tokyo in shibuya, shopped at Lush Shibuya and then went straight home. Here are some shots I managed to take.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with p5 presetProcessed with VSCO with p5 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

Cafe Hopping Around Omotesando and Minami Aoyama, Tokyo

Leave a Reply

